Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland



123 St. Stephen's Green Dublin 2 Ireland

<u>www.iaem.ie</u> www.emergencymedicine.ie

Introduction to the Irish Association for Emergency Medicine (IAEM)

The Irish Association for Emergency Medicine (IAEM) is an organisation of doctors working in Emergency Medicine (EM), including Consultants in EM, doctors in training in the specialty and other doctors involved in or with an interest in EM. Membership is also open to Medical Students.

It was founded in 1989 as the Irish Accident & Emergency Association to advance the care provided to all patients in Emergency Departments and to promote the development of EM in Ireland and in the past twenty years has grown to be the authoritative voice of Irish EM. It is a registered charity, which promotes the highest standard of emergency care for all citizens and visitors to Ireland through education, advocacy, research, training and the provision of advice and guidance to government, health service management and others. It was co-author of the National Emergency Medicine Report in June 2012, which outlines a strategy to improve safety, quality, access and value in EM in Ireland.

It plays an international role through membership of the European Society for Emergency Medicine (EuSEM) and the International Federation for Emergency Medicine (IFEM). Many of its members are Fellows and Members of the College of Emergency Medicine (UK and Ireland). Today, IAEM has many members in Ireland and abroad. There are over 70 doctors currently in specialty training in EM in Ireland, including 31 Higher Specialist Trainees. At present, there are 73 Consultants in EM.

In June 2012, IAEM hosted the 14th biannual International Conference on Emergency Medicine (ICEM 2012) on behalf of the International Federation for Emergency Medicine. The conference took place from 27th to 30th June 2012 at the Convention Centre, Dublin and has been internationally acknowledged as the most successful ICEM to date.

The IAEM constitution enshrines the principles by which the Association is governed. As in all organisations, the Constitution is amended from time to time to reflect changed circumstances following a process that is defined in the Constitution.

The current IAEM Officers are Mr. Mark Doyle (President), Mr. Cyrus Mobed (Honorary Secretary) and Mr. Niall O'Connor (Honorary Treasurer).

Further details about the association are available at the IAEM Website address: http://www.iaem.ie

President:

Mr. Mark Doyle FRCSI, FCEM Consultant in Emergency Medicine

Waterford Regional Hospital Dunmore Road Waterford Ireland

Tel No: +353 51 842647 Fax No: +353 51 848550 Secretary:

Mr. Cyrus Mobed FRCSI, DSM Consultant in Emergency Medicine,

South Tipperary General Hospital Clonmel Co. Tipperary Ireland

Tel No: +353 52 6177987 Fax No: +353 52 6177149 Treasurer:

Mr. Niall O'Connor DCH, DObs, MRCGP, FRCSEd, FCEM Consultant in Emergency Medicine

Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital Drogheda

Co. Louth Ireland

Tel No: +353 41 9874791 Fax No: +353 41 9874799